What is a probationary driver’s license in Indiana?

It is important to note that in Indiana, all licensed drivers under age 21 have a Probationary Driver’s License. This license comes with a variety of restrictions including:

No use of telecommunication devices while driving except to call 911.

No driving between 10 pm and 5 am for 180 days after getting the license. After your teen has driven for 180 days, and until he or she becomes 18, he or she may not drive during the following hours:

  • Saturday and Sunday, between 1 am and 5 am
  • Sunday through Thursday, after 11 pm
  • Monday through Friday, before 5 am

These rules are waived if he or she is traveling to or from work, a school-sanctioned activity, or a religious event; or if accompanied in the front seat by someone with valid driving privileges who is at least 25 years of age or a spouse with valid driving privileges at least 21 years of age.

No driving with passengers for 180 days after issue of Probationary License, unless

  • Accompanied in the front seat by a licensed instructor,
  • Accompanied by an individual with a valid driver’s license who is at least 25 years of age or a spouse who is at least 21 years of age.
  • Accompanied by siblings, step or half siblings or spouse during the hours allowed by law without another accompanying individual.

For more information about licensing teen drivers, visit www.in.gov/bmv.

 

Away at School Discount/Risk of Removing Child Away at School

What are the criteria for removing our college-age student from our Auto Policy while they are away at school?

Young adult drivers can be expensive to insure. We field a lot of calls from parents wondering when they can remove their college-age child from their policy. Typically, students must be attending college more than 100 miles from home without a car on campus to qualify. While removing your student can decrease your rates by as much as $1000, take into account these suggestions when making your decision.

Breaks: Your student will need to be added back to the policy when home for winter and summer breaks.

Driving other vehicles: Your student should not drive a friend’s car while away at school as the friend’s auto policy may lack adequate coverage for your student and anyone else if an accident occurs.

So, when should we remove our young adult children from our policy? The three important things to consider are: residence, ownership and vehicle usage. Young adults should get a separate policy when they permanently live outside their parent’s home. In some cases, their new zip code could yield lower rates. It is also important that the vehicle be titled in the young adult’s name, ie parents have no interest in the car. Lastly, parents are no longer driving the young adult’s car themselves.